kalkan property

Reviews

These testimonials can also be seen on Holiday Lettings

"Fantastic villa in a great location"

We were a party of 5 friends staying in the villa in early June 2017. The villa is accurately described in the listing and has everything you could need for a comfortable holiday. Everything was spotless and in working order. Of particular note were the very private pool/terrace and the fantastic roof terrace which was a great place for and pre (and post) dinner drinks overlooking the bay. Felicity was a pleasure to deal with and very quick to respond throughout the booking process and beyond. Whilst we were at the villa Yusuf was friendly, helpful and easy to contact. The villa is within walking distance of lots of shops and restaurants, particular favourites were Kaya, Pera, Aubergine and Küçük Ev (Small House), but everywhere we tried was good with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Overall a great villa in a great holiday destination!

June 2017

"Yet another awesome holiday in Kalkan"

In short we had a terrific family stay and Felicity was great and helpful. The days went off without a hitch, immaculate rooms and well equipped kitchen, fantastic pool, great vicinity to supermarkets and restaurants. Felicity's ownership of making sure we had a great day was a real credit, turning up to check unnecessary but very much appreciated! Thank you very much for everything and look forward to staying at your villa again!

June 2017

"Home from home in Kalkan"

We rented this lovely villa for just the two of us and there was so much space, so plenty big enough for much larger groups. The pool and garden area was secluded and lots of areas to chill out in either sun or shade, and my husband especially loved the hammocks for an afternoon snooze. It was very well equipped too - but with all the beautiful restaurants in Kalkan we didn't feel we wanted to self-cater. Families would be easily able to do so and there's a big barbecue outside too. Great bathroom in master bedroom - something about a wet room that just feels so cool after a hot day in the sun. We found it easy to walk in to town, a bit more difficult on the way back due to the last hill but a great way to burn off the excess calories consumed in the restaurants. Taxis are easily available but we didn't feel the need for one. Hopefully we will be back next year.

October 2016

"Luxurious"

We absolutely adore Kalkan, its beautiful, idyllic, relaxing, everything you could with for. Your villa though, wow spot on, gorgeous, well equipped, prime location.

September 2016

"Magical holiday"

We just returned from a wonderful holiday in Felicity's villa in Kalkan. We were 2 families and we all loved the beautiful villa with pool area and roof terrace. The villa was spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard. The location of the villa, so close to town and lovely restaurants, was perfect too. Kalkan is a lovely, small town with cobbled streets and a lovely harbour and beach. You are spoilt for choice for restaurants and their gorgeous views. Highlights for us were definitely the boat trips- we did a private one with Maya which was amazing! Yusuf and Felicity couldn't have been more helpful with tips and advice. Thanks for a magical holiday!

August 2016

"Great villa, great destination"

We were a party of 6 family members who stayed at this villa early June 2016. The villa had everything you would wish for – all mod cons including dishwater, microwave and washing machine, and wifi. There is a nice seating area outside at ground level, along with sun loungers, umbrellas, BBQ and outside dining table. On the top level terrace, accessed through the top level bedroom, there is a fridge, sofa, bar stools and bar with beautiful views overlooking the bay. The villa is very comfortable throughout and feels very homely. The owner is extremely helpful and accommodating, dealing with all our pre-holiday queries, providing advice and arranging transport for us from Dalaman Airport. The managing agent popped in regularly to clean the pool and check that everything was OK with our group. Any minor issues were dealt with immediately and we were all really impressed with the standard of care. Following the owners suggestion we decided not to get a car but walked into town every day, which is 10 minutes down the hill. We used taxis to get back uphill to the villa most of the time, especially when we had groceries. Taxi are extremely cheap and plentiful - £2.50 from the town including generous tip. Taxis are always right where you need them – outside the supermarkets, down at the harbour and close to the restaurants. We took the free boat from the harbour to Palm Beach Club most days – idyllic setting, terrific food, and very attentive service – and all for a very economical price. A great destination, a great villa and we all had a great time.

John F, June 2016

"Wonderful family holiday in a beautiful villa"

My wife and I have been coming to Kalkan for the last 13 years.This year we decided to bring our family,2 sons and wives and our 5 granddaughters to celebrate a family occasion.For this we needed a nice villa conveniently situated for access to Kalkan centre.We couldn,t have made a better choice than Villa Kirmizi Lale.This beautiful well cared for villa is maintained to a high standard and is spotlessly clean.The kitchen is well appointed and lounge comfortable.The modern bathrooms are luxurious and bedrooms well furnished and fitted.We enjoyed the new pergola patio area with the ottoman seating with views over the town and also the refurbished balcony with rattan settees and bar stools overlooking Kalkan bay.The sunbeds had nice thick mattresses and enough parasols for shade.We enjoyed the lovely pool and gardens and the white trellis fencing afforded privacy.Should we return with family or friends we would not hesitate took book this villa again and will certainly pass on our recommendation.Thanks again Felicity and to Yusuf for his help.

Michael F, May 2016

"Everything you could possibly want"

We stayed at Villa Kirmizi Lale for two weeks and had an absolutely fantastic time. The villa was spotlessly clean throughout and the private swimming pool and gardens were beautifully maintained. The villa's bathrooms had been recently renovated to a very high standard. Only a 10 minute walk from the town centre, the views across Kalkan bay were stunning, particularly from the top floor balcony. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need for a self-catering holiday. We all enjoyed the great selection of board games too - great fun to sit around the outside dining table and play in the shade! We feel very lucky to have found this villa and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, and indeed already have! The owner was so friendly and helpful, as were the brilliant onsite maintenance/cleaning team. We are already planning our next visit. Don't bother looking at any other villas as you won't get better than this one!

Jane T, July 2015

"Have to come back!"

Kalkan, once a small fishing village, still has a lovely friendly village-like feel. Plentiful of restaurants and cafes, all serving great food from casual to some quite fine dining. A very well appointed villa with spacious bedrooms, marvellous bathrooms and beautiful garden. We also liked the little things like the scent of the honeysuckle, the fact that we were met at the villa on arrival, love the non-slip bathroom tiles, the friendly bus drivers, ... Our best outings were the boat trip and a day in Patara exploring the ruins - we had them all to ourselves! We have to come back!

Thanks Felicity for a perfect family holiday.

May 2015

"A wonderful Villa...I've already booked again for next year!"

Villa Kirmizi Lale is a wonderful villa with an attractive, well appointed interior, new kitchen and bathrooms, and an ottoman seating area on the top floor with stunning views over the bay - perfect for enjoying a glass of wine or two! Outside is a large pool and a patio area with sunbeds and dining table/ chairs. My teenagers enjoyed the hammocks in the garden areas, I liked to watch the sun rising over the mountains in the morning with a cuppa - the view of the mountains is also stunning. For me, one of the best things about this villa is the location. It's on a quiet side street but only a few minutes walk to the Migros supermarket and the Thursday market, and only 10 minutes walk into town. Another plus for us was the thoughtfulness of the local team - they popped by briefly each day to check we were ok and as well as cleaning the pool each morning. The owner, Felicity, arranged our taxi transfers to and from the airport and we used the same driver on a day trip to Patara, which was a fantastic day out.

April 2015

"A great week!"

This villa is great and well equipped. It's within easy walking distance of Kalkan town centre and the views are lovely. The owner's attention to detail and recommendations of trips, etc were excellent. The weather was divine and all restaurants were terrific and amazingly inexpensive.

October 2014

"Absolutely Amazing"

This was our first trip to Turkey and we fell in love with Kalkan. Felicity's villa is not only beautiful but is also in the ideal spot. It really is a 15 minute walk to the beach? It is within 5/10 mins walking distance to supermarkets, restaurants anything you could possibly need. The villa is spotless. All the bedrooms are a great size and the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathrooms are amazing on the second floor and the kitchen is brand new. The views from the balconies are breathtaking. Felicity made our holiday run extremely smoothly she sorted out our taxi to and from the airport, she even booked us a table at one of her favourite restaurants. Yusef is very helpful and always pops round to check everything's ok. We will certainly be returning.

1 August 2014

"Fabulous villa in a good location for getting around with plenty of space with an excellent view of Kalkan bay"

This is our third time in Kalkan and we really loved this property which my partner and I stayed in along with his sister and brother-in-law so we had plenty of space in the villa which was very well equipped and had everything you could possibly need including music, TV and games. The pool is spotless, the hammocks glorious along with some pretty flowers on show. The management of the villa are extremely helpful and pleasant as is Felicity the owner. The location of the villa is excellent at the top of the hill across from the bus station and the Tuesday market which was great and we never had to take a taxi home this year as it is within walking distance from the shops and restaurants.

I would thoroughly recommend this villa and we hope to return again soon. 

1 June 2014

"We can’t wait to come back"

Felicity's villa is just about how perfect you could expect to spend time in such a lovely area as Kalkan. It has every thing for a relaxing time away the villa is more than home from home it is just, when shall we return. This is our third visit and we hope next Sept to come back plus Felicity is just the nicest person you could meet.

October 2013

"Perfect location - Perfect people - Perfect time had by all."

We stayed for 2 weeks in the Kirmizi Lale and loved it.

The property is set amongst other villas on the hillside not far from the main road out of Kalkan near the green school. Although it is 10 minutes into town, it is most definitely downhill all the way. Coming back though, it is certainly good for stamina building, with the last 50 metres being the steepest. We tended to walk down into town and then get a taxi back up, especially if we had supplies to carry. There a plenty of taxis and the cost back up the hill was about 10 TL (plus or minus drivers discretion!).

The villa itself is lovely, with the position up the hill comes the view, you never get tired of looking out to sea, or up the mountain side (tip: binoculars are really useful). It's just close enough to town but not too close to get the noise. The only noise we had was from the neighbours splashing in their pool (mind you, they would have said the same about us!)

The ample-sized pool was heavily used by us in the heat, Yusuf would clean it every morning and be gone before we even got up. We spent a lot of time lounging in the afternoon on the terrace before our walk down the hill to the finest food in Kalkan. The area surrounding the villa is well turned out with different flora and this is regularly watered and kept in good condition by Yusuf.

The rooms are very well done out, the beds very comfy, and the air conditioning is a life saver at night if travelling when we did! We all slept well.

We hardly used the cooking facilities, eating out most nights, but the villa is well-equipped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday.

We did tune into the UK TV, mostly for a bit of BBC news and 5 live coverage of the ashes. This worked really well.

Felicity organised the transfers from Dalaman for us up front and these worked like clockwork.

We would thoroughly recommend Kirmizi Lale. It was great for us with 4 grown up youngsters. Great place, great position, but get those leg muscles built up first!!

The best holiday we've had for years (and no mozzie bites!)

August 2013

"Another fab holiday in Turkey."

We found Felicity's villa 6 years ago,and were a bit apprehensive as we had never privately rented before. The day we arrived in Kalkan and got to the villa we were amazed.The pictures on the website hadn't really done it justice it was spectacular. Yusuf and his team that look after you and the villa are lovely,you couldn't meet nicer people. This year there has been a new kitchen fitted and flooring downstairs which looks lovely.Felicity has also renewed the sun beds and all the cushions on the furniture up on the roof terrace,which is a favourite with my daughters,when they come back from a night out they love to sit out there and enjoy the view. Felicity always makes sure you are Eok and have got everything you want and makes you feel very welcome.There are so many bars and restaurants to choose from that you could go to a different one every night of your holiday and not have to visit one twice.We have always booked our next years holiday before we even come home and now our girls go out to Kalkan for New Year because they love the people and country so much.I would highly recommend this villa to friends and family as long as Felicity still had space for us to go.The location of the villa is brilliant,because it is about a 15 minute walk from the harbour,so you are far enough away not to hear any noise but close enough to walk down for the bars and restaurants. If you're energetic enough you can walk home at the end of the evening or you can go to the taxi rank and get a cab home for about 9 Turkish lira. The slope up to the villa is quite steep but you do get used to it.

August 2013

"Excellent villa, homely feel."

The owner Felicity made the booking process easy and was always prompt with any email enquiries, she arranged the airport transfers which were in a very comfortable air conditioned minibus, we were meet on arrival at the villa by Yusuf the local agent looking after the villa he is always on hand with local knowledge or to deal with any problems that sometimes occur and very helpful delivering large containers of drinking water for the cooler.

The villa is full equipped with any thing you need and the wifi connection is also very useful. All bedrooms and the lounge have air con units to combat the heat and of course a lovely private pool to cool down in, which we could do with now at home during this heatwave!

The view from the pool terrace across the bay was lovely while relaxing on the sunbeds catching the rays, and the view is even better from the Ottoman terrace area on the top floor where we spent many a pleasant evening with a sundowner.

It is an easy 10 minute walk down the hill into Kalkan, but takes a little longer to walk back up, the road climbs gently back to up the villa, the last 20 or so yards are quite steep but of course Taxis are numerous although we never felt the need for one to get back!

The restaurant just down from the villa (Eves see our review) makes for a good pit stop before tackling the last climb up.

Also a quick mention for Chillies restaurant again see our separate review.

There are numerous restaurants and eating places on the road down so no need to go all the way down to the old town.

All in all our party loved our time in Kalkan and the villa was at the heart of all that was good!

20 July, 2013

"The perfect location and stunning views."

This villa is in the perfect location, close enough to town to access all the amenities but far enough to avoid town centre noise. The improvements to the villa this year were noticeable, incl. a new kitchen & flooring, and the ottoman area upstairs had been reupholstered. The views from up here are stunning! We found everything we needed to occupy 2 teenagers in between our outings, incl. board games and internet tv, the wi fi was a good feature too for teenage facebook fanatics!

Following a week with the family, I enjoyed a week in the same villa with friends where we made full use of the wine glasses! The walk up the hill became easier as the time went on and we felt fortunate that we wern't in one of the many villa's further up.

Handy for both weeks was the Migros supermarket just down the hill, and the villa is also in sight of the amazing Thursday Market.

We felt very well looked after by the local team and will certainly visit again.

20 June 2013

"A Fantastic villa with fantastic views."

This was our fourth year to Villa Kirmizi Lale..A fabulous villa with plenty of space and is equipped like home, and has just had a new kitchen and flooring downstairs which look fab. The outside patio and gardens are a lovely area to sunbathe and relax by the pool, and have great views of the bay. Both the first floor balcony and the Ottoman area on the 3rd floor also have fantastic views, and the Ottoman area is lovely to sit on whilst enjoying a glass of wine and enjoying the views! This is a great villa to come to with family or friends, I have been with both and each time it feels like home to me. It is only a few minutes walk to the supermarket and start of the restuarants and about a 10 minute walk down to the harbour, with restaurants all the way down. Kalkan is hilly but this is good to keep you fit! The villa owner is lovely, extremely helpful and always easy to contact. The villa is also maintained by a local family who are very helpful and friendly and regularly visit to keep the pool maintained and can help if you have any problems. In summary a fantastic villa to stay in!

13 April 2013

"Excellent holiday as always."

This is the 5th year that we have stayed at Felicity's villa and we are already booked for next year. The 1st year we booked it, we were a bit apprehensive because we had not booked a villa before from owners direct, so we didn't know what to expect, but when we arrived we were amazed. Yusuf and his team that look after the villa are lovely, so friendly and good for a laugh. We have found some lovely bars and restaurants out there, to name a few are Coast( Their flaming marble steak is amazing) Trio, Aubergine and the Corner. Durali and his staff at Kleos bar are fab. When we go to the villa now it is just like going home, Felicity has furnished it to a high degree,with homely touches like photos of her family. We are all so sad when it is time to leave and we all start counting down to the next year.

21st September 2012

"A perfect villa in a perfect setting."

This villa on three floors has so many bedrooms plus pool plus large patio. Views over the med being so high up above the town are to die for. Can't wait to return 2012.

5th November 2011

"Wonderful family holiday."

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Villa Kirmizi Lale in Kalkan. The Villa was most comfortable with everything supplied making it a real home from home. The pool was kept in tip top condition by Yusuf and Muhammet who kept us informed of what to do and where to go helping to make this - our first visit to Turkey so memorable. We definitely hope to return!

2nd November 2011

"A super villa in a great location."

We had a wonderful stay at the villa Kirmizi lale. A nicely appointed property with a lovely interior, good pool, attractive gardens and within easy walking distance of Kalkan centre. We were well looked after from start to finish.

6th October 2011

"Great location and space."

Thanks Felicity for the use of your lovely villa. The main selling point for us was the location which was perfect, a short walk into town but far enough back for great views. The entertainment on offer for our children was great, I know that going away and wanting English TV and a play station may sound strange to some, but they are probably not parents! Loved the pool area and evenings watching the sunsets from the top seating area were all exactly as described. I would recommend this villa especially to families as the space it affords and location make it a must to consider in Kalkan, where so many villas are really quite inaccessible....

3rd August 2011

"A fabulous family holiday."

We had a great stay. There were 8 of us and we never felt like we were cramped for space. The villa is very well equipped for a relaxing stay and it was tempting to just to hang out there all day. That said, a trip to the beach in Petara is highly recommended as was the boat trip. We ranged in age from mid 50's to mid 20's and all had a good time. Eatng at the local restaurants was good fun and all were good value for money. We can't wait to go back again!!

30th June 2011

These testimonials can also be seen on Holiday Lettings

topBack to the top.